Inaugural of SKEP and Student Satellite Club

DBCE Fatorda
09 Feb 2019
Don Bosco College of Engineering, Fatorda
Information Technology

The Don Bosco College of Engineering, Fatorda, Goa established an IEEE student branch consisting of 74 students with the help of Prof. Yeshudas Muttu as the IEEE Branch Counselor, Don Bosco College of Engineering (DBCE), Fatorda, Goa. It has also established a Students Satellite Club named “Parikrama” under the guidance of Dr. Varsha Turkar & Prof. Mohini Naik as Principal Investigators, and Prof. Sweta Morajkar & Prof. Ramnath Prabhu as Co-Principal Investigators. The inaugural ceremonies for both these Student Chapters were held on February 1, 2019 in the Seminar Hall of the college. The Chief Guest for the function was Shashank Krishna, Director & CEO of Katmal Info Technology, Padma Shri 2019 Nominee (Science and Engineering field), and the Guest of honor was Dr. B. Satyanarayana, IEEE Bombay section Secretary and Scientific Officer (H), TIFR, Mumbai.

The function commenced with the unveiling of the logos of both the student branches designed by Siddesh Nayak, followed by lighting of the traditional lamp. The dignitaries were then given a floral welcome. The Director of DBCE, Fr. Kinley D’Cruz motivated everyone with inspiring and encouraging words in his welcome speech. Dr. Neena S. Panandikar, Principal of DBCE introduced the Chief Guest and the Guest of Honor of the function and congratulated Prof. Yeshudas Muttu & Prof. Mohini for their efforts and support. She also appreciated Dr. Varsha Turkar, the Advisor of IEEE student branch and Principal Investigator of Parikrama, for taking these initiatives & providing her constant support and guidance.

Prof. Mohini then gave a brief introduction of Student Satellite Club to be installed and informed the gathering about the journey that includes the club member's rigorous selection procedures and criteria. Out of 83 candidates, a total of 15 student members were selected with Musab Shaikh, Everard Leitao and Krupashri Koli as the Project managers of the club. The Chief Guest, Shashank Krishna inaugurated Student’s Satellite Club and handed over the badges to all the members of the club.

Later, Prof. Yeshudas introduced the gathering to the world’s largest technical professional organization, IEEE: Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, stating its importance with growing technology, about its various facilities and support to the aspiring minds followed by a short note on Student Branch formation. The IEEE Student Branch Officers were later introduced and the Guest of Honor, Dr. B. Satyanarayana presented each member with their respective badges. The Branch Officers appointed are Sherwin Colaco as the Chairperson, Rohan Bukkam as the Vice Chair, Rajat Metry as the Treasurer, Shivam Bale as Joint Treasurer, Juella De Oliveira as the Secretary and Raj Kubal as the Joint Secretary of IEEE student branch of DBCE. The oath was taken by the Executive Committee of IEEE Student Branch, DBCE.

This was followed by the vote of thanks given by Prof. Sweta Morajkar. The function concluded with the premiere of the IEEE DBCE student Branch video. The compere for the inaugural ceremony was Benecia Colaco.

Back to Top