DBCE Fatorda
13 Mar 2019
Don Bosco College of Engineering, Fatorda

"IGNITRON 2019", a two day intercollegiate event organized by the Mechanical Engineering Students Hub of Bosco College of Engineering, Fatorda was inaugurated by South Goa MP, Adv. Narendra Sawaikar, who was the Chief Guest. Gautam Raj, Chief Production Manager, MRF Ltd., was the Guest of Honor. Dr. Vittal Tilvi, Scientist from NASA was the key note Speaker. Fr. Paul D’Souza, Rector, Fr. Kinley D’Cruz, Director, Prof. Ajit Salunke, HOD- Mechanical Department and Prof. Suraj Marathe, MESH Coordinator were also present on the dais.

Sawaikar said that these type of events help in personality development. He further said that Development goes hand in hand with the Economy and Environment and since India is the fastest growing economy, there is need for technocrats. Raj urged students to rise above all expectations, be innovative and always try to achieve for the best. Fr. Kinley congratulated the students who have excelled in various project competitions at the National Level and emphasized on the role of Mechanical Engineers. Dr. Tilvi in an interactive session on “Space Exploration” spoke on the Big Bang Theory, Galaxies, Hubble Telescope etc. Prof. Salunke gave an overview of various Industry associations, skill development centers and achievements of the Department. Prof. Marathe briefed about the activities of MESH in the year 2017-18. Rohan Borker proposed the Vote of Thanks. Keegan Pinto and Allson compered the event.
Students from colleges across the state participated in various events like Robowars, Torquiz, Dexigner, Robosoccer, Robosumo, Tug of War etc. A Workshop on “Automobiles was conducted by Prof. Saurabh Raikar.

Satya Kolwalkar, Head, Manufacturing & Technology for South Asia & Africa Cluster was the Chief Guest for the Valedictory function. He appreciated the efforts of Ignitron organising committee and urged students to grab the opportunities available in the Industry. Other dignitaries present were Fr. Kinley, Director, Dr. Neena Panandikar, Principal, Dr. Kala Nayak, Registrar Prof. Ajit Salunke, HOD and Anuj Dhond, MESH Chairman. Prizes were distributed at the hands of the Chief Guest and other dignitaries.

Back to Top